DPP Celebrates 2017-2018 MPA, MPP and MSR Graduates

On May 4, 2018, the Department of Public Policy held its 2017-2018 Graduation and Awards Ceremony honoring the achievements of fifty-seven MPA, MPP and MSR graduates at the Front Street Bistro and Spotlight Theatres in Hartford.  Dr. Kerri Raissian, Assistant Professor, presided over the ceremony of speakers, award recipients and the participating thirty-nine graduate students.

Speakers offering congratulatory remarks included Dr. Mohamad Alkadry, Professor and DPP Department Head, Alissa Johnston, MPA 2007 and President of the MPA Alumni Council, and Alleya Renee Jenkins, DPP Class of 2017-2018 Student Speaker.

The ceremony included the presentation of awards established in the names of three individuals which continue to support DPP and recognize the achievements of its students.

The Mort Tenzer Award is given to meritorious students upon entering the MPA program.  This year’s recipient was Christopher Brechlin. The Albert Ilg Award is given to a student with outstanding dedication and commitment in the area of local government administration. This year’s recipients were Qiuyi (Lexi) Allegue for 2017 and Emma Morelli for 2018. The David B. Walker Award is given to a student in the MPA program who exemplifies tireless dedication to public service.  This year’s recipient was Fabia Firoze-Doza.  Mort Tenzer and Albert Ilg were in attendance and personally congratulated the awardees after the ceremony.  Sadly, David Walker has passed away, but his legacy lives on.

Also recognized for their achievements in proven academic excellence were graduates in the MPA, MPP and MSR programs.  The Master of Public Administration Academic Excellence Award recipient was Ashley Bodamer.  The Master of Public Policy Academic Excellence Award recipient was Tyler Terbrusch.  The Master of Survey Research Academic Excellence Award recipient was Emil Czechowski.

Congratulating the graduates, twenty-five MPA, twelve MPP and two MSR, as they walked across the stage, were Dr. Raissian, Dr. Alkadry, Dr. Deneen Hatmaker, Associate Professor and Director, MPA and MPP Programs, and Dr. Jennifer Dineen, Assistant Professor-in-Residence and Director, GPSR Program.

At the conclusion of the ceremony graduates, family, friends, guests and DPP faculty and staff celebrated with a reception at the Front Street Bistro.

Congratulations to all the graduates!