Awards and Celebrations

Celebrating the Class of 2023!

On Monday, May 8th Mistress of Ceremonies Professor Kerri Raissian welcomed the School of Public Policy’s (SPP) Class of 2023 to the Bushnell for a Celebration of Graduates and Awardees. The graduates were joined by SPP faculty and staff, community members and their support systems. Our graduates hailed from Connecticut, Rhode Island, Idaho, New York, […]

A Gala to Celebrate: 50 Year’s of the MPA & Impacting Public Service

On the evening of April 24th, 2023 the University of Connecticut’s (UConn) School of Public Policy (SPP) held a 50th Anniversary Gala for the Masters of Public Administration (MPA) program. Over 140 members of the SPP network were present to celebrate. This opportunity was made possible by SPP Operations Coordinator Maura Maloney and the wonderful staff […]

2023 Keynote Speaker: Susan Bysiewicz, Connecticut Lieutenant Governor

Sworn in on January 4, 2023, Susan Bysiewicz is serving her second term as Connecticut’s 109th Lieutenant Governor. Lt. Gov. Bysiewicz’s and Gov. Ned Lamont’s first priority is to grow good– paying jobs and investing in the state’s future. Lt. Gov. Bysiewicz is continuing her commitment to economic growth that made her a leading voice […]

A Celebration for the Class of 2023

Congratulations to the Class of 2023 and our award winners! We can not wait to celebrate your achievements tomorrow evening. Below is our schedule of events as well as list of our awardees and graduates! Schedule of Events Mistress of Ceremony Kerri Raissian Associate Professor, School of Public Policy Welcome Remarks Mohamad Alkadry Director, School […]

2023 Morton J. Tenzer Fellowship Fund: Kader Akpinar

This award is given to an incoming student with undergraduate academic excellence and the potential to succeed in the program. The fellowship was established in 1993, the year Professor Morton Tenzer retired from the University of Connecticut. It is intended to be used to assist in recruiting high–quality in–state and out–of–state students. Professor Morton J. […]

2023 Alumni Impact Awards: Shub Dhakal, Jessica Muirhead & Chelsea Ross

Jessica Muirhead, MPA Fellow ‘20, Director of MyCTSavings, CT State Comptroller Jessica Muirhead (MPA ’20) is the Executive Director of the CT Retirement Security Program, or “MyCTSavings,” a state–facilitated automatic–IRA savings program for employees who lack access to a retirement benefit at their workplace. The fourth program of its kind to launch in the country, […]

2023 Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government Award: Rachel A. Boward & Kallysia H. Raymond

The Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government award is given to an MPA student who demonstrates interest in local government and public sector service. Awards (“Fellowships”) will defray living or academic related expenses. The award was established in 1998 to honor the distinguished service of Al Ilg as the Town Manager of Windsor for […]

2023 Student Speaker: Michelle Woods Matthews, MPA ’23

Michelle Woods Matthews is the Director of Communications for the City of Norwalk in the Office of Mayor Harry Rilling. Prior to this role, she served in a wide array of roles, such as Press Secretary to former Connecticut State Treasurer Shawn Wooden, Communications Director of NARAL Pro–Choice Virginia, Public and Legislative Affairs Manager of […]

2023 David B. Walker Award: Nicole Sanclemente

The David B. Walker Award was established with a generous donation from Parashar Patel, MPA ‘91. This award is given annually to recognize a student in the program who exemplifies tireless dedication to public service. Ideally, the awardee would have an interest in Federalism. David B. Walker: This endowment honors David B. Walker, former director […]

2023 MPA Fellows Academic Excellence Award: Molly H. Aunger & Kelly A. Leppard

Molly H. Aunger, MPA ‘23 Program Coordinator, Justice Collaboratory, Yale Law School Molly Aunger is the Program Coordinator for the Justice Collaboratory at Yale Law School. Prior to the Justice Collaboratory, she had worked as the Assistant to the Director of Student Services at the Capitol Region Education Council (CREC). In that role, Aunger was […]