Members of the SPP Network Named to HBJ Power 50

HBJ Power 50 Logo

The Hartford Business Journal (HBJ) recently named their third annual Power 50 class. For a third consecutive year, members of the School of Public Policy (SPP) network were named to the list.

Andréa ComerAt #10 we find State Department of Consumer Protection Commissioner Michelle Seagull and Deputy Commissioner Andréa Comer. The pair are overseeing the state’s legal cannabis industry following last summer’s signing of an adult-use statute.

Comer is a DPP MPA Fellow and currently serves as the Chair of the Social Equity Council (SEC), which was created to benefit marginalized communities that were disproportionately impacted by the war on drugs.


Jason JakubowskiAt #38 we find Master of Public Administration (MPA) alum Jason Jakubowski who currently serves as CEO of Connecticut Foodshare and an adjunct faculty member with the DPP. Last year Foodshare and Connecticut Food Bank rebranded and merged to have a statewide focus. Jakubowski was previously CEO and President of Foodshare.



Congratulations to Jason, Andréa, Michelle and the other impactful Nutmeggers!