Celebrating the Class of 2019!

DPP Annual Awards and Pi Pi Alpha Induction Ceremony – April 17 

On April 17, the Department of Public Policy (DPP) hosted their Annual Awards and Pi Pi Alpha Induction Ceremony. The DPP awarded two Outstanding Service Awards. The first was to Department Head Mohamad Alkadry and the second was to Program Director Linda Freidman. 

Two faculty members were honored with Distinguished Faculty Honors. Both Associate Professor Deneen Hatmaker and Adjunct Professor and DPP alum Paul Potamianos were acknowledged by students for their accessibility and engagement in the classroom. 

Both the Master of Public Administration (MPA) and Master of Public Policy (MPP) programs awarded two Outstanding Student Awards. The MPA program honored Yahaira Escribano and Luke Switzer, and the MPP program honored Miranda Richard and Kelly McElwain. 

Steve Criss was the recipient of the 2019 David Walker Award. Zane Carey and Luke Switzer were the recipient of the 2019 Mort Tenzer Award. Joshua Kelly was the recipient of the 2019 Al Ilg Award. 

Alumni honored at the event included Seth Brohinsky and John Simoncelli. Brohinsky was awarded the Distinguished Master of Arts in Survey Research (MASR) Alumni Award and Simoncelli was awarded the Distinguished MPA Alumni Award.  

Twenty Three MPA and MPP students were inducted into Pi Pi Alpha (PPA). PPA encourages and recognizes outstanding achievement and supports graduate public service education. 


Ceremony to Honor Graduates – May 10

On May 10, fifty four graduates were honored at a Ceremony to Honor Graduates at the Spotlight Theatre & Front Street Bistro in Downtown Hartford. The graduates consisted of thirty six MPA, fourteen MPP, and four MASR candidates. 

The 25th Attorney General of Connecticut, William Tong, provided the KeyNote Address. In his address the Attorney General encouraged students to remember the people behind the policy. Additional speakers included Yahaira Escribano, MPA 2019 who was the student speaker and Alyssa Goduti who was the Alumni Speaker.