Focus Area Friday: Create Your Own

A focus area allows students to develop additional expertise in a specific area. The Master of Public Administration (MPAprogram requires nine credits (three courses) and the Master of Public Policy (MPPrequires twelve credits (four courses) to complete a focus area. Students can choose a focus area within the Department, develop their own with the help of their advisor, or choose to remain a generalist. 

The front of the Hartford Times Buildings with UConn flags in front of it
UConn Hartford campus on September 5, 2017. (Bri Diaz/UConn Photo)

Students can create their own focus area and draw upon coursework from across the university. Additional focus areas being pursued by current students include:

  • Business Analytics
  • Law
  • Public Health
  • Social Work
  • Sustainable Environmental Planning and Management