SPP Staff Member Joins Quest with Leadership Greater Hartford

School of Public Policy (SPP) Administrative Coordinator Wade Gibbs recently joined Leadership Greater Hartford’s (LGH) Quest 2022. The program unites Wade with other high-performing mid-career professionals from sectors across the region. Together Wade and other participants will engage in experiential leadership training within the Hartford community. They will also identify needs and establish task forces to […]

MPA Student Gains Nonprofit Experience in Pakistan

UConn School of Public Policy (SPP) student Saah Agyemang-Badu recently traveled to Pakistan to work with international nonprofit organizations. Her journey to Pakistan began at SPP orientation during the fall of 2020 where she met friend of SPP Zahra Ali. After their introduction to all things SPP, the two exchanged contact details and began communicating. When Saah […]

SPP Alum Named First Native American U.S. Treasurer

On Tuesday President Joe Biden appointed School of Public Policy (SPP) alum Marilynn “Lynn” Malerba as the first Native American U.S. treasurer. She received her Master of Public Administration (MPA) from UConn in 2008. Her signature will appear on U.S. currency, and her duties will include overseeing the newly established Office of Tribal and Native […]

Celebrating the Class of 2022

On May 9th, UConn’s School of Public Policy (SPP) celebrated 102 graduates at the Bushnell Performing Arts Center in Hartford, Connecticut. Our graduates included 7 Survey Research (MASR), 19 Public Policy (MPP) and 76 Public Administration (MPA) candidates. The night’s festivities also included an awards ceremony that showcased additional members of our community. The evening began with […]

2022 Faculty Excellence Awards: Ruodan Zhang and Anne McIntyre-Lahner

Ruodan Zhang, Assistant Professor Ruodan Zhang is Assistant Professor in the School of Public Policy at the University of Connecticut. Her primary research interests are nonprofit management and volunteerism. Specifically, her broader research agenda centers on why citizens participate and persist in public affairs, and the corresponding roles of public and nonprofit organizations. She is […]

2022 The Morton J. Tenzer Fellowship Fund: Kaleigh Pitcher

This award is given to an incoming student with undergraduate academic excellence and the potential to succeed in the program. The fellowship was established in 1993, the year Professor Morton Tenzer retired from the University of Connecticut. It is intended to be used to assist in recruiting high-quality in-state and out-of-state students. Professor Morton J. […]

2022 Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government Award: Jon M. Trister and Kylee A. Dostie

The Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government award is given to an MPA student who demonstrates interest in local government and public sector service. Awards (“Fellowships”) will defray living or academic related expenses. The award was established in 1998 to honor the distinguished service of Al Ilg as the Town Manager of Windsor for […]

2022 David B. Walker Award: Cristian G. Corza Godinez and Brittany L. LaMarr

The David B. Walker Award was established with a generous donation from Parashar Patel, MPA ‘91. This award is given annually to recognize a student in the program who exemplifies tireless dedication to public service. Ideally, the awardee would have an interest in Federalism. David B. Walker: This endowment honors David B. Walker, former director […]